Reviews for HOOJ1/1

1. James 12/06/2019
Staying at Jason's is to be welcomed and stay in a delightful home. Your room is spacious and the bed very comfortable. Bathroom is neat and clean as well. Close to the subway (1 and A trains) and restaurants are nearby and Boxer's Bar, too. Best of all is the host himself!
2. Zach 19/05/2019
Jason’s apartment was the perfect place to stay for a trip to NYC. It’s big, beautifully decorated, and conveniently located. Jason is a wonderful host that will go out of his way to make sure your stay is a flawless one. Do yourself a favor, and stay here!
3. Manuel 11/01/2019
Pasamos genial este fin de año. Jason es un excelente host. La ubicación de su apartamento es muy conveniente y a pocas cuadras de una estación del metro. El apartamento es amplio, comodo y adecuado. Gracias Jason!!!!
4. Hemi 22/11/2018
Absolutely loved my stay at Jason’s apartment. Room was fantastic. Jason was phenomenal as a host. Not in your face but was around so as you could ask questions etc. Made me feel right at home from the moment I entered the apartment to when I left. His engagement with me prior to arrival was fantastic giving tips on what to do, keeping tabs on arrival times, information re transport and tourist attractions and the like. My stay in New York went that much smoother. If I ever have an opportunity to be back in New York he will be my first port of call. Thank you Jason. Fantastic!! If there is a rating number it’s a 20 out of 10 from me.
5. Sanjiv 04/11/2018
Jason was a great friendly host, the property was cool and it was a very pleasant stay
6. Giampietro 18/10/2018
It was a real pleasure to choose Jason's home as accommodation for my week in New York. The landlord is very hospitable, kind, not intrusive. The house is very large, clean and quiet. After a short corridor leads to the living area, with kitchen and living room, bright and well furnished. Beyond there is a corridor on which there is a bathroom (with a very comfortable and functional shower) and in the door next to the guest room (tastefully furnished, spacious and with a comfortable bed). The rest of the house (Jason's room and TV area) are over the end of the corridor so the guest has a lot of privacy. The apartment is located 5 minutes from the metro station, on line 1 (always working at night), so in twenty minutes you get to Times Square passing first several stops along Central Park including Columbus Circle and Lincoln Center very comfortable and certainly used during the visit to New York. The neighborhood around 157th Street is still quiet, I had no problems returning in the evening, it is also very popular (fast food, including Mc Donald's, street vendors with fresh fruit, and a large supermarket always open). If you have any doubts, I hope I have convinced you to choose Jason's house as a place to visit New York.
7. Robert 23/09/2018
Jut returned for a six night stay with Jason, who is an excellent host. He made me feel very welcome and I felt at home. There is not a list of house rules. its to be treated as your home away from home. Large bedroom with comfy bed. The bathroom is clean. Lots of shops around and places for breakfast (I went to Caffe Bene). Subway is close and an easy ride into The City centre and beyond. I had a weekly metro pass. The neighbourhood was safe, I had no problems walking back the short route from the subway late at night. I felt Jason trusted me in his home and I felt relaxed there.
8. John 01/06/2018
Can't express enough how staying with Jason made my first visit to New York City, such a comfortable and pleasant. I felt like I was staying with an old college roommate. I felt very at home. Jason was such a great host. He went out and bought a new window AC, for me on a day we had a heat wave. I plan to return and stay with Jason.
9. Jo 24/05/2018
Great space in a beautiful apartment. Neighborhood is quiet, convenient to subway and green spaces. Host is friendly, helpful but not overbearing. Bed was very comfortable and the apartment was spotless.
10. Kate 14/05/2018
Jason was a wonderful host! He was lovely, friendly, always available, and helped me negotiate my way around town easily with clear directions from his location. He is only two blocks from the subway which is a straight line to downtown. His apartment (and the room I stayed in) is quiet, huge and clean. I would highly recommend staying with him!
11. Gerald 14/05/2018
I had a great stay at Jason's flat. He is a charming host, very gracious and warm. The room was wonderful and very spacious, the bed warm and comfortable. It's a lovely apartment in a lively neighbourhood. Very easy to get to via public transportation. Jason has information about the city, and about certain transit delays that were happening which was very helpful for me. On Sunday morning he had made delicious buttermilk biscuits, a welcome treat! I would definitely stay with him again on my next trip to NYC!
12. Raffy & Laurens 09/04/2018
Jason is a gem, the place is exactly like the photos large and spacious you'd be surprised! Jason was very supportive of all my questions and requests even allowed me to extend my booking on a short notice in which is very appreciated. the flat is a short walk from the subway station, well connected. Supermarkets and restaurants are within walking distance. I would stay again, Highly recommended.
Thank you Jason, and sorry for my late review.
13. Filippo 19/12/2017
Great stay at Jason's apartment! My room was clean and confortable and Jason is a caring and kind host. My 5th trip to Nyc was even better thanks to him.
14. Steve 21/10/2017
Great host in a very clean, comfortable and interesting place to stay. Its located in a quiet neighbourhood within easy walking distance to the subway station. We got to midtown Manhattan quickly and could explore all day, take in some theatre in the evening and still get back within a reasonable time. There's a large grocery store nearby on the way to the subway and got whatever we needed. There's lots of restaurants in the area too. Jason was so prompt in confirming after we sent in our booking request. We appreciated that! He was prepared for hosting and we would reccond his place!
15. Alan 04/10/2017
Jason was a friendly and generous host. His apartment is large and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and the place relaxing and quiet. We were conveniently near Broadway and the subway. We highly recommend Jason and staying with him him is good value.
16. Liviu 25/09/2017
I stayed 2 nights at Jason's apartment near Central Park and really enjoyed it. The apartment is very clean, has great art and is nicely decorated, is conveniently situated near the subway (5-7 minute walk) and the central park, and Jason is a very nice and friendly host. I highly recommend it!
17. Markus 27/08/2017
We spent 5 great nights in NYC with Jason and Antuan... very comfortable apartment, interesting neighbourhood and easy to get around.
Jason is a wonderful host who always gave us great advice where to go, we enjoyed our stay a lot and had much fun.
The view from the terrace on top is amazing. Looking forward to coming back one day...
Thank you for everything!
18. James 13/06/2017
I had a most splendid stay with Jason. Generous apartment and generous host. Convenient to the 1 train. A very comfortable stay in a delightful home. Thanks, Jason.
19. Craig 16/05/2017
What a fantastic host in a beautiful and convenient location. Thank you, Jason, for making my New York trip so amazing!
20. Alan 23/04/2017
This is a great place just a block or two of the main drag. There are many cafes and restaurants in the neighborhood with good food. It was very easy to get around with a variety of subway and bus lines within a 5 minute walk.
Jason was a wonderful host, kind and easy to communicate with and his home has all the amenities we needed. We would stay here again.
21. John 07/04/2017
Really enjoyed my stay with Jason and Antuan who where very welcoming and ready with advice on the best way to get around. They had no problem chatting and passing the time of day with me and made me feel really at home. The apartment is well placed for subway stations and bus stops.
22. Ivan 12/12/2016
It was very comfortable accommodation at the house of Jason, especially for his kindness and availability.
23. Jean-Pierre 19/10/2016
Lovely stay in Jason's apartement. The pictures say it all : the apartement and the bedroom are wonderful and beautifully decorated. Looking on gayhomestays for places that feel like someone's house and not an generic hotel? That's the one. It's all cozy and warm and big. I had the room giving on the sidewalk, but slept like a rock and didn't heard much noise, someone talking once in a while but nothing inconvenient. In the morning and the evening it got a little cold in the room, but hey, that's the time of the year the weather turns a little. The roof access also offers a wonderful view on Manhattan and all around. The price is really affordable for New York. Jason's description in his ad is true on every point.
As for Jason, he was very friendly. You feel that he likes hosting people, we had some nice chats, especially about art and theatre. He was also very accomodating for check-in and check-out, always a plus.
You're in a real neighbourhood, full of life, very latino, not too touristy. It felt quite safe and had plenty restaurant, fast-food, supermarket,...anything to survive :-)
The only thing you should be mindful is that it's in the north of Manhattan, so not just next to the usual attractions. Three regular subway lines near by (2 local, 1 express), so never too long to wait. Location is really not a downside of the apartement. But just know it won't be great for you to come back and forth many times a day from downtown. Jason is pretty accurate when he says it's a 25 min ride to Times Square.
So a lovely stay in a most beautiful place with a welcoming host, that's how I feel about my stay.
24. Scott 02/10/2016
A very comfortable place. Easy access to subway and Jason is a great host. Very easy to get a long with!!
25. Quentin 19/09/2016
I spent about a week at Jason's apartment. The place is as cozy as it looked in the photos (really liked the brick wall!). There is a lot of space. The room is comfortable and, regarding to the high temperatures in New York when I was there, the AC is really appreciated! Bathroom and flat were clean.
The place is really near the metro station on the A and 1 line (168th street). It is a bit far from downtown. Meanwhile, the area offers a more authentic atmosphere, mostly Spanish/Mexican. I appreciated that too.
The rooftop offers a nice view and it was really interesting to have this 360° panorama on Manhattan, especially by night. Photographs will really love that place!
The only little bug is, sometimes, the poor quality of wifi, due to the big walls.
Jason is really kind. No troubles getting the keys... Sharing his flat was a nice experience and made my stay in New York much more enjoyable! I highly recommend this host!
26. Jason 22/06/2016
Jason is a terrific host! The apartment is spacious and comfortable. Close to 2 subway lines, you can make it anywhere in the city. The bed is comfy and the place is clean. Jason is a great resource for theatre recommendations. Highly recommend this stay and will be coming back the next time I'm in the city!
27. Rico 13/06/2016
A great accomodation to stay at. Not the touristic center of Mannhattan, so you can get a good insight into the life there. And the roof top offers an amazing view over Manhattan, to the Bay Bridge and New Jersey. Simply estonishing! And our host was very kind, offered us help, told us what we could do or see. Thank you very much!!
28. MICHELE 29/05/2016
Jason is a great host and I enjoyed my stay at his flat immensely. The place is spacious and the room comfortable. I really liked the area with its distinct ethnic flavour. It is well served by the metro line 1. I will defintely go back if i will return to NYC.
29. Colin 02/11/2015
Great host !
Friendly and welcoming.
Comfortable bed :)
Good location only 20-30 min to downtown
Choice of subways close by.
Good food and beer close to Apartment
Parilla for food. Coogans for beer.
30. Dominic 19/10/2015
Fantastic place to stay! Jason is a lovely host, apartment is gorgeous and it's a great opportunity to see experience how real New Yorkers live. Easy access to fast subway into city and the views from the rooftop are breathtaking.

Highly recommended!
31. Zak 27/09/2015
Great apartment, great host, highly recommend!!!
32. Mykel 15/09/2015
AMAZING. I cannot thank Jason & Antuan enough for their incredible hospitality, the amazing communication before and during our stay, their wonderful apartment and of course our new found friendship. I really couldn't of asked for more. From the moment we arrived we felt very welcomed and comfortable. The apartment itself is very clean and roomy. There is also a roof top that overlooks the city and George Washington Bridge! The subway is a quick walk around the corner and is so easy to navigate around Manhattan. There is an abundance of restaurants, cafes and grocery stores nearby. Jason and Antuan were always available to us, should we have had any questions or needed tourist information. Our wonderful holiday was enhanced by Jason's and Antuan's hospitality and I cannot highly recommend them enough. Thank you so much and given the chance, we would love to stay with you again and again! Myk & Jase
33. Ian 15/07/2015
Staying with Jason was an absolute pleasure. Both he and Antuan were gracious hosts and always most obliging in answering questions and supplying information on shows, directions and any other questions we had.

The apartment is located just a short distance from all amenities including restaurants, convenience stores and the subway. It was easy and relatively quick to travel to any part of the city.

We would certainly recommend Jason as a host, the apartment as a safe place to stay and would not hesitate to book there again when in NYC next.

Ian & Jared
34. Matthew 12/07/2015
Jason was a wonderful host. The room and rest of the apartment were very clean, quiet, and easily accessible. He's a very friendly and helpful guy, welcoming from the first minute you meet him. Bonus: there was air conditioning to combat the hot summer humidity. I would highly recommend staying here.
35. Gerardo 26/05/2015
great accomodation very close to metro-line 1 and C ....central park in about 15 minutes / chelsea 20 minutes. Very friendly and helpful hosts!
36. Ruben 13/05/2015
It was incredible our stance with Jason and Antuan, they are a very good host, kind and their hospitality was over expectations. I recommend very much this apartment because they not only give you a room but a super nice accommodate. I would like to back there without think about it
37. Andrew 03/05/2015
Andy and Philip 15th april -22nd april
There are many reasons to book this accomodation first Jason is a really nice guy with plenty of local knowledge who has lived in New York for ten years
The price is really cheap and worth every penny
Jason is trusting and allows you to use his home as and when you please even gives you youre own key
The location is close to two main subway stations so getting to downtown and the many tourist locations is very easy
So i would rate this stay ten out of ten
so if you are looking for accomodation tap up Jason x
38. Adeel 24/03/2015
I wouldn’t say this is ONE good host. Oh no , not I. I would say there are 2 Fantastic hosts at this apartment. The apartment is Massive. The room I stayed in was, big, plenty of wardrobe space and room to store my luggage and a desk to work on. There’s Laundry facility’s with in the building. Situated on the ground floor in a friendly NYC neighborhood with amenities such as shops, Restaurants and subway are situated within a minute’s walk from the Apartment. Here’s a travelers tip. Prices in the residential restaurants in this neighborhood are cheaper than those closer to the central areas. My tip is eat locally as opposed to down town. On a last note A & J are great hosts. They are friendly, warm and inviting. I’m a business traveler to New York and this is the second time I stayed with J. Thanks A&J two genuine guys who gave me the comfort of home, while I was away. Thank you guys for a wonderful stay.
39. Noriswadi 21/12/2014
Honestly, I did not expect the apartment looks better than the pictures. Seeing is believing, really. Comfortable bed, spacious room, very clean bathroom, and presentable kitchen. Very quiet neighbours as well. The facilities and maintenance are above average and well-mantained. There are collection of books that you can read as well (if you have the time!) :)

Overall, my 6-week stay at Jason's place was pleasant. It's a fully furnished apartment, a few minutes away to 157th St. Station (Red line, line 1), and vibrant neighbourhood. As a visiting research scholar, I spent most of my time (based in a leading law school in Downtown Manhattan) and in between, travelling to Boston, New Haven and Philadelphia. I truly enjoyed my research stint in New York City (NYC).

Jason and Antuan (his apartment mate) are friendly and professional. They truly appreciated their tenant's privacy and recommended the must-to-do tourist visits in NYC. During the first week of my stay, Jason updated me on other alternative Subway lines and stations nearby the neighbourhood (which I found very handy and helpful). Note: In NYC, it's quite common to consider alternative subway routes as some stations are closed for scheduled weekly/weekend maintenance. Because of the apartment's strategic location, I do not find any problems to commute and travel. This is a plus point!

I highly recommend you to stay in this apartment, especially, if you want to consider a longer stay. Partly because the apartment has its own laundry facility. You will be loaned a laundry card that you must top up for laundry (located at the Basement). You can also enjoy the view of sunrise and sunset at the roof top. I managed to do it based on Jason's excellent recommendation. It's breathtaking!

The neighbourhood nearby the apartment offers variety of diners, groceries and mini markets. 40-50% of the traders are of Hispanic/Latino community. There are few banks along Broadway; Bank of America, TD Bank (known as the Green Bank) and Apple Bank (known as the Community Bank). Mc Donald's is just 5-minutes away from the apartment. There's some Chinese Takeout outlets, 1 Halal diner, and hispanic/latino diners (which I have tried). If you are a foodie, do try the rated A diners. There are few of them, located both sides across Broadway. It's just 10-15 minutes away from the apartment. If you are a Starbucks-addict, do head to 168th Street Station (it's located 5-minutes away from the station). The 24-hour Mc Donald's are also located nearby.

Jason and Antuan have kindly let me know the recommended gay listings. Antuan shared with me a useful gaycities app. It makes my discovery useful. Depending upon the purpose of your visit (whether short term, transit or long term). The apartment is 30-40 minutes away to Chelsea (the gay neighbourhood of NYC). If you are into Grindr, the neighbourhood offers variety of hot guys :) Of course, you need to respect Jason and Antuan's privacy if you consider to hook up. In the interests of security, it's best to ask their permission.

In short: Highly recommended.

40. David 18/05/2014
Thanks again Jason for a magical few days and nights last July in your wonderful apartment which was all I had hoped for. You were also welcoming and I loved talking to you as well as looking at your books. You gave me the idea of going to Fire Island too which was a great day.

I can thoroughly recommend Jason as a host and the apartment.
David
41. Adeel 13/05/2014
W-O-W, Leave your guide book at home, because believe me you wont need it if your staying with this host.

The apartment was located in a friendly, safe residential neighbor hood, with plenty of local amenities, such as a 7-11, launderette and plenty of places to eat out. Towels were provided and the bathroom its self was clean. I had full use of the the apartment including the TV and Kitchen. If i was bored or stuck for ideas i also had full pick of the books on offer in the apartment which included guide books. I got to say that i visited NY on a cold week, and the apartment was always warm, cosy and snug. My bedroom had a Large bed with a very comfortable mattress and plenty of room to store my bags and get changed.

The host was great. Warm, friendly very inviting and easy to get along with. He made sure that you were ok after his busy day at work and always provided ways of saving money on tourist attractions, inside hints and tips, and transport advice.

Overall the best thing about my stay was the good nights sleep i was getting every night. That mattress was great and very comfortable, i travel a lot and have stayed in plenty of hotels. This was the first time i managed getting great sleep. It felt like i was at home. No elevator noise every 5 min, no loud people in the hall way and best of all no doors slamming in the middle of the night waking you up and disturbing your sleep. I would rate this host 10 out of 10 and i would stay with him again.
42. Jose Gabriel 21/04/2014
Great location great host… nothing bad to say more than thank you Jason.
43. Anton 18/03/2014
Had a fab stay in NYC thanks to the hearty host Jason. The apartment is unpretentious but cosy, located just between 2nd and 3rd Ave. in North ,anhatten (or Spanish Harlem, if you will). The 42 street and Lower Manhattan is just 20 min away and the subway (line 6) is basically around the corner. What's not to like?
Strongly recommended.
44. Fernando 10/08/2013
A very nice and helpful host.
Quiet and clean bedroom, lots of Latin American restaurants in the neighborhood.
Will happily come back again !
Thank you !
45. Chris 10/07/2013
Very welcoming host, good size room and comfortable apartment. A short walk to the subway. Highly recommended
46. Syafiq 13/06/2013
The apartment was in a great location and was clean and ready to go when I arrived (I was offered lots of flexibility regarding arrival and departure times). It was great that it was near to a subway station. The entire process was smooth and very easy to deal with.
47. David 14/04/2013
Great apartment, easily accessed from the 6 train with easy travel downtown. Very comfy bed and friendly host. Couldnt be better really!
48. Carlos 03/04/2013
Well.. I stayed for about a week with the Host, who was one of the most hospitable and attentive gentlemen I've ever met.
His apartment is really clean, cozy and you feel like home. It's also very near the subway station. You can get to downtown Manhattan in less than 10 mins.
I really enjoyed my stay there and I would highly recommend everyone to contact the Host if you want to feel welcomed in one of the most beautiful cities of the world. NYC
I can't wait to go back and hopefully our nice host will have a room available for me again, :-)
49. Regis 03/04/2013
Jason est une excellent hôte attentionné et serviable. Toujours pret à vous faciliter votre séjour et trés arrangeant.
Une valeur sure
Encore merci jason